China tour agent
top 10 popular China tours
China tour packages
scenic China tour
China photography tour
Beijing tours
China travel to Guilin
China tour to Yunnan
Yangtze River Cruise
China tours to Guizhou
China travel to Sichuan Chengdu
Silk Road tour
China tour to Tibet Lhasa
China city tours
China city guide
China travel tips

Home >> China City Guide >> Shanxi Province

Shanxi Province


Situated along the middle reaches of the Yellow River in the western part of the region known as North China
156,000 square kilometers
It gases a mild continental climate with four distinct seasons awash in sunlight. The annual average temperature ranges from 4¡æ to 14¡æ and annual precipitation from 400 mm to 650 mm. The frost-free season ranges from 120 to more than 220 days.
provincial capital:
32.97millions (March 2001)
Ethnic groups:
Han,Hui,Mongol,Man,etc 34 ethnic groups in Shanxi.
Major Cities:
Pingyao, Datong
Shanxi has 3,656,500 hectares of arable land, 23 percent of its area, The agricultural economy is based on farming, supplemented rice,wheat, barley, sorghum, potato, sweet poato,buckwheat,broom corn millet and beans grow in profusion. Cash crops include cotton tobacco, beets, vegetable, oil-bearing plants and hemp. Also to be found are apples, walnuts and dates and precious plants used on Chinese traditional medicine such as Codonopsis pilosula and Astragalus baicalletsis. Pigs, sheep, chicken, rabbits, cows, donkeys horses, mules, silkworm and bees are also raised.
Over the last 40 plus years, Shanxi has established a basic industrial system comprising a great variety of industries. Currently more than 12,000 industrial enterprises are in operation. Coal and electric power form the backbone of industry of Shanxi.
Provinces Of China
Anhui Province
Beijing Municipality
Chongqing Municipality
Fujian Province
Gansu Province
Guangdong Province
Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region
Guizhou Province
Hainan Province
Hebei Province
Hubei Province
Heilongjiang Province
Henan Province
Hong Kong
Hunan Province
Inner Mongolia
Autonomous Region

Jiangsu Province
Jiangxi Province
Jilin Province
Liaoning Province
Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region
Qinghai Province
Shaanxi Province
Shandong Province
Shanghai Municipality
Shanxi Province
Sichuan Province
Tianjin Municipality
Tibet Autonomous Region
Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region
Zhejiang Province
Contact Us | About Us | Terms And Conditions | Home, All rights reserved