Elephant Trunk Hill lies in the junction
of the Yangjiang River and Lijiang River in Guilin.
Also called the Elephant Hill because the shape
of the whole hill is like the model of an elephant
hanging its trunk and absorbing water.
There is a Water-moon Cave
between the elephant trunk and elephant body of
the Elephant Trunk Hill. The water flows into
the cave directly and the small boat can easily
pass from this cave.
If you select a good angle to take
photos, you will look as if a little person was
standing in front of the elephant mouth and next
to its long trunk. The most interesting of all
is: when there is full moon and the moon is bright
as ever, the reflection creates a unique scene
of "there is water inside the cave and on
the water there is a moon".
Ancient scholar praised it as a strange
illusion with poem:
"There is a moon at the bottom
of the water;
on the water the moon floats.
Water is flowing away but the moon stays;
when the moon is gone the water still remain."
There is a pagoda built in Ming Dynasty
(1386 ~ 1644A.D.) on the top of the Elephant Trunk
Hill, called the Universal Wisdom Pagoda. From
a distance, it looks like a precious bottle and
yet like a short sword too, so people called it
the Precious Bottle Pagoda or the Sword Hilt Pagoda.
There are over 50 stone carvings of
Tang Dynasty (618 ~ 907A.D.) and Song Dynasty
(960 ~ 1279A.D.) on the wall of the hill. The
most famous are the stone carvings of Song "Poem
Letter" written by the Song poet Luyou, "The
Grave of Flowing Water and the Moony Cave"
written by Fandacheng and "The Foreword of
the Poet of Zhaoyang Pavilion" by Zhangxiaoxiang.
In fact, the Elephant Trunk Hill has
a unique flavor in sunrise and sunset. Additionally,
there is the Yunfeng Temple at the southwest foot
of this hill. Legend shows this temple was build
in Tang Dynasty and it was one of the four famous
temples in Guilin.
During the period of Heavenly Kingdom
of Peace (1850 ~ 1864A.D.), and the period of
the Revolution led by Dr. Sun Yat-Sen in 1911,
this temple plays the important role as gathering
place for all the comrades. Therefore, there are
many historical cultural relics in the temple.
We suggest that after you visit the unique landscapes
of the Elephant Trunk Hill, stop by and see the
When the army of the Heavenly Kingdom
of Peace surrounded and attacked Guilin in 1852,
they once bombarded on the Elephant Trunk Hill
to the whole city. When the army withdrew, they
misled the enemy with many scarecrows standing
on the Elephant Trunk Hill like many soldiers
carrying guns on the shoulder and waiting for
This let the soldiers of Ch'ing Government
shrink back at the sight if danger and they thought
there are many soldiers standing ready in battle
array and didn't dare to attack up to the hill.
In the 17th year of Emperor Guangxu times, the
Yunfeng Temple was rebuilt and changed the name
"Fuyin Temple". Inside, there are displays
of the historical materials such as the Heavenly
Kingdom of Peace and the Revolution of 1911 and
concerned cultural relics.